Some New Finds

Can you believe it’s the last weekend in August?!?! Where did the summer go?!?!

Anyway…I had another crazy week, but wanted to share some new finds with you that I discovered.

So my friend Mac and I have created a To-Do list of all the places we want to check out together in Charm City. When you spend hours during the week running together these are the things you talk about to pass the time. Sweet27 in Remington was one of the places on the list so we decided to head there for dinner this week. They have a ton of gluten-free and dairy-free menu options which was perfect for me. She’s a regular and I’m pretty sure I’ll become a regular too now.

Appetizer was plantains with black beans and salsa (oh and a side of Malbec).

IMG_1687.JPG

Dinner consisted of these veggie tacos. So  yummy.

IMG_1688.JPG

I didn’t have room for dessert, but I’m sure I can convince Mac to go back with me. Check out this menu….

I finally got around to ordering this new cookbook, Run Fast.Eat Slow by Shalane Flanagan (Olympic medalist, American record holder, world-class marathoner) and Elyse Kopecky (chef, food writer, runner, nutrition educator). This cookbook for runners shows fat is essential for flavor and performance and that counting calories, obsessing over protein and restrictive dieting does more harm than good. I’m pretty excited to start trying prepping these recipes and sharing them with you on the blog.

2016-08-24_13-31-34

Has anyone else noted this new coffee shop in Federal Hill?  I’m not an everyday coffee drinker, but with all these local coffee shops I may turn into one.

IMG_1670.JPG

Working in Towson within walking distance to The Fresh Market is good yet bad for my wallet. I go there often to pick up snacks or lunch and decided to try these. They were so good I had to lock them in my desk drawer so I didn’t eat the whole bag.

IMG_1694.JPG IMG_1695.JPG

I typically LOVE RXBars, but definitely not a fan of this new flavor. I’ll stick with the chocolate, coconut and peanut butter. Has anyone tried these?

IMG_1671.JPG

If you are in need of any nutrition for your training be sure to check out CharmCity run this weekend. They are having a sale…buy 12 nutrition items and get 20% off. As you can see I took full advantage and stocked up. Huma Gels are my absolute favorite and they are easy on my stomach. Because you can never have too much Nuun, I grabbed Watermelon and Strawberry Lemonade. I also like the Clif Organic Energy Food to eat before longs runs or races.

IMG_1707.JPG

Well..that’s it for now but I’ll be back this weekend with a recap of this weeks training schedule.

Good luck to all my running friends getting in long runs and racing this weekend!!!!

xx
Emily

 

 


Leave a Reply

