Exciting News

Happy Monday everyone. Well I have a lot of things to talk about and recap, but first I wanted to share some really exciting news…

2016-09-09_12-15-09.jpg

I’m officially signed up for IRONMAN 70.3 Lake Placid. IRONMAN Lake Placid is the longest-running American event aside from the IRONMAN World Championship in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. I knew this was something that I always wanted to do it was just a matter of when. Well…I think now (2017) is the perfect time and it will be something I can check off the bucket list before I hit 30 ( I still have 1 more year in my 20’s thank goodness).

Esther Collinetti, owner of REV, is one of the most inspiring people in Charm City that I know. Her continuous support and inspiration within the fitness community is truly making a difference here in Charm City. After her post on Facebook I knew that I had to go for it. Thank you Esther for being bad-ass and just an all around role model. On a side note, Esther has completed 2 – half Ironman’s and is now training for her first full!!!

IMG_1160.jpg

I was set on doing Syracuse until my friend Steph posted that she was signed up for Lake Placid (which will be her first IM too). It was a tough decision between whether or not I would sign up to do Syracuse in June or hold off until September for LP. Thinking about the weather, the course, and having friends to train with, it just made sense to do IMLP. This would give me ample time to recover from my 2016 racing season and get more triathlons under my belt. I’ve only done one actual triathlon (which was this past weekend…recap coming soon), but I’m ready to just jump right in. Crazy? (Just a little!!!)

I can’t really explain the feeling that I had when going through the registration process. Goosebumps, chills, and just pure excitement for this challenge and to embark on this journey. After signing up, I found out that several other friends from Athletes Serving Athletes were also signed up which got me even more excited. It’s going to be an all around great experience and I’m happy to know there will be so many familiar faces there for my first IRONMAN.

I look forward to taking you all on this adventure with me next year when the training really begins.

Untitled.jpg

Emily

 


Leave a Reply

