Time to Refocus

This training cycle has been a bit different than all of my previous plans. Why? One, I have been marathon and triathlon training at the same time. Two, I’ve been doing much more speed-work this go around (definitely a love/hate relationship with those workouts). Three, being pushed outside my comfort zone by having a coach. All of these factors have helped make this training cycle fun yet challenging. I can’t forget to mention exhausting too, but that’s all part of the training lifestyle. As I look ahead (only about 3 weeks) to the Chicago Marathon, now is when I need to refocus my energy on solid runs, staying healthy and injury free.

Here’s a look at how this week went:

Monday: I taught my normal Barre class @ Merritt. I also spent ample time stretching and foam rolling after.

I also received a wonderful box of Gundalow Juice. The weather may be cooling down, but you still need to stay hydrated.

juice.jpg

Tuesday: REST DAY. I honestly can’t remember the last time this actually happened. I’ll admit as hard as it was to rest, it felt pretty darn good and my body thanked me.

I had time in the evening so I made the Sweet Potato Fries from my Run Fast Eat Slow Cookbook. I promise I’ll be getting the recipes up here soon. For those of you who recently purchased it…what do you think?

gundalow.jpg

Wednesday: Easy 5.10 mile run (8:42 pace) + taught BodyBarre @ UAPC (oh and more foam rolling and stretching)

Thursday: Easy 5 mile run (8:48 pace) + taught TRX @ Beachfit + a visit to TrueSports.

They’ve been helping me a bit with my hamstring and glute issue. Last time I went they did Graston Technique which helps break up scar tissue. You can read more about it here. Very painful, but effective. This week we did dry needling which is less painful and also very effective. Dry needling is where they use thin filiform needles to penetrate the skin and stimulate underlying myofascial trigger points, muscular, and connective tissues.

2016-09-15_20-20-30.jpg

Friday: Taught my usual BodyBarre class @ UAPC + more stretching/foam rolling + an easy 3.80 miles (8:38 pace)

Today (Saturday): Rest day (sort of). I taught TRX @ Beachfit.

Post workout selfie with the morning Beachfit Crew…

2016-09-17_11-50-12.jpg

Then it was time for coffee. I tried Spoons in Federal Hill which is super cute and the coffee was excellent.

2016-09-17_11-49-43.jpg

Now it’s off to Philadelphia for tomorrow’s RockNRoll Half Marathon.

Also….

Check out these upcoming events with a few of my favorite people in Charm City. 

Pace, Love & Yoga on Friday, September 23 from 4:30-6pm: A free yoga class hosted by Pace & Love Marketing and CorePower. Sign up here.

Free Yoga @ Atwater’s Canton every Friday from 6-7pm with CorePower Yoga.

Free Baltimore Yoga is helping Michele’s Granola celebrate their 10th Anniversary. Free yoga from 7:30-9am in Pierce’s Park (located near Pier 5).

Always remember….

2016-09-17_11-49-11.jpg

Happy Weekend Everyone!!
Emily


Leave a Reply

