Run Fast. Eat Slow.

Happy Wednesday. Sorry I’ve been slacking a bit on getting posts up. I know that the past couple of posts have been focusing a lot about running and my workouts, but that’s really what life has been like prepping for the Chicago Marathon (Richmond too).

As promised I told many of you that I would get some of the recipes up that I’ve been experimenting with from the Run Fast Eat Slow Cookbook. I absolutely love all of the recipes and need to experiment more in the coming weeks.

91644154e36cfb8a4aae470b768e853f.jpg

First up were the Wild Salmon Sweet Potato Salmon Cakes.

(Hint: these also freeze well)

Ingredients:

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons coconut oil
1 medium yellow onion (diced)
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup sweet potato puree (I just cooked a sweet potato and dug out the flesh)
8 oz wild salmon (I used canned)
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup almond flour
1/2 cup minced parsley (I used dry)
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon pepper

  

1. Heat 2 tablespoons of oil over medium heat, add onion and salt and cook for about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for another minute or so.

2. Mix the sweet potato, eggs, salmon, almond flour, parsley, lemon juice, mustard, cumin, pepper, and salt in a large bowl. Add the onion mixture and combine.

3. I used the same pan that I cooked the onions in and added the 1/4 cup of oil. Scoop 1/4 of the salmon batter and form into a patty about 1 inch thick. Cook until nicely browned on the bottom (about 3 minutes). Flip and cook another 2-3 minutes.

In the book, they paired these with Avocado Cream which looks amazing. Definitely add these to this weeks menu and go buy the book!!

 

I also made the Superhero Muffins. These are packed full of veggies and are Shalane’s go-to muffins!

You can actually view the full recipe here.

(Hint: This recipe yields 12, but make a double batch and stick some in the freezer. When you need a quick snack before a workout, just grab one and heat in the microwave for about 30 seconds)

   

Combine the almond meal, oats, walnuts, raisins, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the eggs, zucchini, carrot, butter (I actually omitted due to my allergy), maple syrup, and vanilla.

Mix wet ingredients with the dry ingredients.

Spoon batter into muffin tins.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 25-35 minutes.

                                The Before                                                                 The After

     

Now…trick here is to try and not eat half of these in one sitting. I plan to make a bunch and take with me next week to Chicago for the Marathon.

Alright, who has made these? Your thoughts?

Have a Happy and Healthy Day!

Emily


Leave a Reply

