A Fall Favorite

As much as I love summer, I do love fall and fall food which includes squash and lots of pumpkin. I wanted to share this recipe with you that I made recently and it is actually good any time of the year. I got this recipe from one of my favorite Baltimore Yoga instructors, Dani Yarusso.

For the recipe you will need:

1 spaghetti squash
Olive Oil
Garlic
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 leek cleaned and diced
1 box of mushrooms (sliced)
A few handfuls of kale
1/4-1/2 cup of cashew milk (I used unsweetened)
1-2 tbsp garbanzo bean flour
Parmesan cheese (optional)

For all of you busy people like me, I actually cut the spaghetti squash and put in in my microwavable vegetable steamer to save tons of time. You can buy something similar on Amazon for around $10. Depending on how large the squash, the cook time will vary. You can also cook it in the oven if you have more time. Just slice in half, dig out seeds, drizzle with oil, salt and pepper and then place on a cookie sheet cut side down.

squash.jpg

While the squash is cooking, you can start to saute the vegetables. Heat a skillet with coconut oil (olive oil works too) and garlic. Add the mushrooms and leeks. Cook until tender.

prep.jpg

Next add the kale and cook to desired tenderness.

kale.jpg

For the cream sauce, mix the cashew milk and garbanzo bean flour in a small sauce pan and whisk until thick. You may need to add additional milk or flour to get to the right thickness. I doubled the cream sauce recipe and it was perfect.

Next, I mixed the cashew cream sauce with the veggies and served over the spaghetti squash.

end pic.jpg

Enjoy!

You can view Dani’s recipe here.

What is your favorite spaghetti squash recipe?

Do you have a go-to weeknight meal?

Have a great week!

xx
Emily


2 thoughts on “A Fall Favorite

Leave a Reply

