What Inspires You?

In-spi-ra-tion: the process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative.

I’m sure you can already guess what this post is going to be about and that is INSPIRATION. Living in Charm City I’ve had the opportunity to be a part of such an incredible fitness community. A community that continues to inspire one another and lift each other up every single day to become better individuals. A community where people rise up before the sun to greet one another for a morning run or a morning workout or a sweaty hug. A community where we find ways to help others with disabilities and lend our legs to those who can’t run.

I stumbled across this article on Oiselle almost a year ago and I saved so that I could go back and read it when I needed it. I highly recommend you read it, save it and maybe share it with a friend.

My favorite quote is from Andie Cozzarelli.
“Have a purpose much bigger than yourself and run for it. When you run into tough days having a direction will remind you of where you’re going and why. Shake off the rough days and soak in the confidence from the little things and you will be unstoppable in the pursuit of your ultimate purpose.”

As many of you know, I spend most of my time racing with an organization called Athletes Serving Athletes. This organization is continuing to make a difference in so many lives. Each year more and more athletes join ASA to participate in all mainstream running events and cross finish lines that range from 5K’s to marathons to even Ironmans. They continue to INSPIRE me and get me across the finish line because I know that they would do the same for me.

This past weekend Team Lily crossed the finish line of the 41st Marine Corps Marathon.

                        14581524_10153817071241809_6433321431356368747_n.jpg  14724348_10153817648096809_4132550988155570617_n.jpg

Matt and Kevin ran Boston last year with the MR8 Foundation.

King Money James and Dave (ASA founder) completed Ironman  Eagleman 70.3 in June and will be doing the Harrisburg Marathon on November 13th.

                   13062442_562653440576078_3967699327031581708_n.jpg   IMG_2859.JPG

One of James’ favorite sayings…“Never give up, never quit”

HAPPY BIRTHDAY to November Project. Today NP turned 5. This group of people have changed my life and have introduced me to some of the most amazing and inspiring people I know. There are so many incredible stories that come from this free fitness movement it’s hard to talk about them all so you’ll have to check out the November Project Facebook page here. This free fitness movement…yes free, is changing communities week after week, month after month, year after year.

Just show up….
Wednesdays: 5:30am/6:30am Rash Field
Fridays: 6:30am Patterson Park

14192083_1212331398830696_1784757419485768478_n.jpg

Because this woman is a complete badass I have to congratulate her on completing Ironman Los Cabos. Esther Collinetti is the co-owner of REV Cycle Studio and has been such an inspiration to me over these past couple of years. If you don’t know her…go to REV, introduce yourself and your life will forever be changed. Thank you Esther for changing fitness in Baltimore.

esther.jpg  14633019_10155359908495410_7532928699967649962_n.jpg

FEAR. “What do I fear? I fear average. I fear dying without leaving a legacy. For many of us it holds us back. It keeps us small. Its keeps us average. Fear, keeps us in our comfort zone. But what if we started to love our fears. I mean fear motivates the shit out of me. So what is left is love even for our fears.” – Esther Collinetti

 As you head into a new month…think about who and what inspires you.

xx
Emily

“I will greet this day with love in my heart. And how will I do this? Henceforth will I look on all things with love and be born again. I will love the sun for it warms my bones; yet I will love the rain for it cleanses my spirit. I will love the light for it shows me the way; yet I will love the darkness for it shows me the stars. I will welcome happiness as it enlarges my heart; yet I will endure sadness for it opens my soul.” ― Og Mandino

 

 


Leave a Reply

