A Minor Setback

I hope you all had a great weekend. As for me, the weekend was amazing (more to come on that later), but these past few weeks haven’t exactly gone as planned. What does that mean? That means the Richmond Marathon this weekend just isn’t going to happen. I have decided to drop down to the half instead. I don’t know how else to put it…IT SUCKS. IT SUCKS really really bad. Last week I had mentioned my IT band and after another light week of training it is still not 100%. It was a tough decision. A decision that I didn’t want to make and one that I kept putting off thinking I would be healthy enough to run.  I tried not to stress myself out about it. I broke down a few times, but I knew that getting upset wasn’t going to magically heal my IT band. I came across a post this week from one of my favorite bloggers, Kayla Bowker, that really put all of this into perspective.

“Life has a wonderful way of throwing twists at you that don’t always make sense.  I have come to learn that those twists usually stand a purpose and if you embrace it fully you will find something spectacular out of it. Find a place inside where there is joy.  Joy will burn out the pain”

I had to take a step back and look at the big picture. Thinking back to January when I set my goals for this year, I had my heart set on a BQ. I didn’t know if it was possible considering this would only be my second marathon, but I was going to go for it. Running a BQ in Chicago still feels like a dream and I still get goosebumps thinking about that moment when I crossed the finish line. Making it to Boston is not something everyone gets to experience so I am incredibly blessed to hopefully run Boston in 2018. As I look at Richmond, I have nothing to prove. Yes, I would have loved to run another 26.2 this year, but thinking about half Ironman Lake Placid next year I can’t risk any more injuries. That dream of being an Ironman is bigger than running two marathons in one season. Am I still mad and disappointed about it? Yes, but it really is the smart thing to do.

Now for the weekly training recap…

Monday: Taught Barre + Spin with Rich

Tuesday: 1,000m swim + yoga with Free Baltimore Yoga

Wednesday: Run (4.50 miles)

I seriously need to get better with these morning run selfies. Thankful to have Julie and Kevin join for a few miles.

IMG_3268.JPG

Thursday: 2,000m swim + yoga

IMG_3303.JPG

Friday: Taught BodyBarre + PT at TrueSports with Mary

I also discovered this new gadget at UA for your core which I’m obsessed with…

IMG_3287.JPG

Dry needling on the TFL with some stim.IMG_3300.JPG

More cupping….
Untitled.png

She also put on some KT tape to help with the IT band. (A nice pop of color to match the shoes!!)

IMG_3304.JPG

and because it’s Friday…coffee from Atwater’s.

IMG_3305.JPG

And that’s a wrap!!!

A full weekend recap coming soon and more updates on preparing for the Richmond Half, but until then…get some coffee and Happy Monday!!

Cheers,

Emily


Leave a Reply

