Everglades Half Recap (Finally)

 I know you’ve been waiting patiently, but I’ve finally got around to writing a recap of the Everglades Half Marathon. I’m actually going to do kind of a weekend recap since this was a destination race and lots of good stuff went down.

Saturday (Race Day):

Race outfit ready to go.

Ciele hat, November Project tank, Lululemon shorts, Newton Gravity, and 2XU compression socks

IMG_3682.JPG

Alarms went off at 4 AM (so early I know). I had packed a sweet potato with almond butter for breakfast and made some terrible coffee for the drive to the start line.

                        IMG_3683.JPG  IMG_3684.JPG

Once the bus dropped us off we had about a 3/4 of a mile walk to the start line.

IMG_3685.JPG

The views were amazing that morning.

IMG_3687.JPG   IMG_3710.JPG

Julie and I at the start.

IMG_3694.JPG

It was such a peaceful run and  we even saw a few gators on the course.

IMG_3719.JPG IMG_3718.JPG

Mid run selfies…just because.

 IMG_3717.JPG  IMG_3688.JPG

The course was great and they gave out gels, oranges and bananas at a lot of the water stops. It was a cup-less course so they had coolers of water every 2-3 miles with a few volunteers for you to fill up your water bottles.

We took it easy and just had fun. My time was 2:20:05.

Finish goodies were on point too. The medal was pretty sweet. The TSA crew at the airport thought so too when they were searching my bag.

IMG_3730.JPG

They gave out protein shakes and a box of food. This box had pretty much all of my favorite snacks.

IMG_3724.JPG   IMG_3729.JPG

Obligatory post race photos.

IMG_3735.JPG

IMG_3738.JPG

After the race, we headed out to watch the college football and get food. It was a good day because Florida won and PSU won. The rest of the day was spent relaxing and possibly some more drinking.

IMG_3739.JPG

Sunday: 

I’m not sure if I mentioned this already, but I love breakfast food and on the weekends brunch (and coffee) is a must. We got up and went to Fort Myers Beach to eat. Veggie omelette and fruit.

IMG_3766.JPG

They also had this sand sculpture thing going on so we got tickets and walked around for a bit.

IMG_3773.JPG

IMG_3771.JPG   IMG_3770.JPG

Since I was in Florida and the weather is amazing, Jon and I went out for a nice 90 minute bike ride. A touch windy…but other than that the weather was perfect. I did realize that I’m out of biking shape though. 27 miles…BOOM!!!!

IMG_3776.JPG

Monday:

After a quick breakfast we headed to IronDNA Fitness for some crossfit and bootcamp. I love checking out new gyms any time I travel so I was super pumped to get in a good workout.  The trainers and people were great and really made me feel welcome. I’ll definitely be going back next time I’m in town. Just an FYI…my legs were sore for like 4 days.

 IMG_3789.JPG

Next stop..breakfast at First Watch. I honestly love that place.  I got an omelette with fruit and totally forgot to snap a picture (sorry).

I did get a picture of the coffee I got from a cute little shop called Bennett’s in Sanibel.

IMG_3780.JPG

Weekends and vacations go by way to quick. Unfortunately it was time to leave sunny Florida and head back to Baltimore. It really was the perfect weekend and a great ending to the 2016 racing season. I have no plans to run any more races this year, but instead use this time to get back into strength training to prepare for 2017.

Cheers!
Emily


Leave a Reply

