Thanksgiving 2016

I’m a little late on this one, but I wanted to recap Thanksgiving. I figured that I should probably get it done before Christmas and speaking of Christmas it is only 19 days away….yikes. As many of you may know I grew up on a dairy farm and I wanted to give you a sneak peak of farm life and life in Pennsylvania when I’m home for the holidays.

But before we get to that…let’s talk about Thanksgiving Day.

Thanksgiving Day was kicked off with the local Turkey Trot. This was my 3rd year doing it and was so happy to have my relatives visiting from CO join.

Thanks to my sister Marie we had costumes to wear for the walk.

         img_3838   img_3836

We had such a great time and Kevin was a trooper.

img_3842

Then it was home to help prep dinner. My mom picked up some local brussel sprouts that were almost too cute to eat. I roasted them with butternut squash and topped with cranberries and walnuts.
img_3847   img_3849

I also made pumpkin roll which I do every year.

img_3815

My dinner plate…kind of sad but being lactose intolerant I’m pretty limited. Turkey, veggies and some cranberry sauce. Not pictured….a giant glass of red wine.

2016-12-05_11-21-15.jpg

After enjoying Thanksgiving with the family, it was off to the barn to milk the cows with my Dad.

Some history and facts:
1. My grandfather purchased the original farm back in 1950 and it has been in the family ever since.
2. We currently milk about 220 cows and they get milked two times a day. Once at 5am and then again at 5pm.
4. The farm expanded in 2000 which meant a brand new milking facility and a more automated system.
5. We have a total of 520 head of cattle total and farm about 800 acres.

The parlor set up is considered a double 12…meaning that you can milk 24 cows at a time.

img_3831

Suited up and ready to go.
img_3868     img_3874

  img_3869

It’s a rather repeditive process in the parlor.

1. Dry wipe the cows teats with a cloth
2. Foam with special cleaning solution
3. Wipe cows teats again
4. Foam again
4. Wipe off foam
5. Put milker on
6. Dip teats with another solution

img_3873

Mid-milking selfie with Marie.

   img_3875

This is where the cows sleep and eat. They have nice water beds to sleep on and spend all their time here.

img_3881

After the milking is complete which normally takes about 2-2.5 hours, it is time to feed the babies. I’ve always enjoyed this part of the milking as a kid and I still do today. I fill each of the bottles and then feed each baby separately.

img_3877   img_3879

This one was taken at the calf barn where all the babies get fed.

   img_3883

These are two of my favorites and they are twins.

img_3889

img_3890

This cutie was born the day after Thanksgiving.

img_3892

I apologize if you have a weak stomach, but I did get to see a cow surgery for a twisted stomach. When I was younger Doc actually let me stitch up a cows stomach and I still remember it to this day.

                        img_3825    img_3828

I’ll definitely be sharing more photos and farm stories over the Christmas Holiday when I’m home. I’m sure you all are now so interested in farm life so I’ll try and share as much as I can.

I’d love to hear about your holidays at home wherever that might be and any fun stories that you may have about where you grew up.

xx

Emily


One thought on “Thanksgiving 2016

Leave a Reply

