My Word for 2017

First off, where did the year go? For those of you who read my last post on the Winter Solstice, you know that I gave you all the challenge to come up with one (maybe two) words that you were going to focus on for 2017. In case you missed it, you can read it here. You also know that I didn’t yet have my words to share and said that I’d post them at a later time when I was ready. Well..I’m ready now.

So how did I come up with the word? I’m glad you asked. I actually used the time at the 108 Sun Salutation Event with Arrow Yoga to decide on what my word was going to be. I had an idea, but wanted to use the flow to find a word that resonated with me. Going into the practice, I knew I wanted to use the time to let go of what I no longer needed in order to make space for what I wanted to create in 2017. And my making space, this would allow me to focus on my word.

The evening was just what I needed. Dani led the sun salutations and then we had the opportunity to put together our Solstice Start Up Kit. I wrote my word on the lid, , lit a candle and shared it with the group. At the end we blew out our candles, picked a stone to go with our intention, made an essential oil and then munched on vegan cookies and hot cocoa.

Okay so the word….

When thinking about this past year, TRUST was a word that came up a lot in my life. I learned to trust a lot of things, not just with training and races, but life in general.  With everything that has happened this year and looking ahead at 2017, my word is… ACCEPTANCE.

I know that acceptance can mean a lot of things so let me explain and talk through the things that helped me choose this word.

Accepting…

1. Self Love – accepting and reminding myself that I AM ENOUGH…”I am at peace as I am”

2. Life – accepting where I am with my life both personally and professionally

3. Trust – accepting life’s challenges and accepting them as part of the journey

4. Failure – being okay with failure and knowing that failure is the only way you grow

 5. Past – accepting the past and the many lessons that I’ve learned in order to free up space for whatever the future holds

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.” – Lao Tzu

2017…I’m ready.

xx
Emily


3 thoughts on “My Word for 2017

  1. Love that your 2017 word is acceptance!!! We all get so bogged down when things don’t happen our way. Ultimately, in the big scheme of things, if it were to happen, it happens. All we can do is out in our best efforts at every step and accept the fruits of our actions as it comes along. Good luck on ur 2017 endeavors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

