Well Hello January

Hello January and Hello 2017. The new year is here and things are off to a great start. We are 7 days into the new year so I hope you are getting back into your workout routines. I know I’ve been slacking on the training updates, but I’ve been on a bit of a break from the normal training (running) schedule.

I have a love/hate relationship with this time of year.

1) I hate winter and the cold (I actually just hate bundling up to go everywhere)

2) I don’t do well when I’m not in a training cycle

3) I have a hard time resting during the off season (I’m working on this one)

4) I love getting back into more cross training

5) I love that I can keep warm inside a hot yoga studio

6) I love that I can take full advantage of sleeping in on Saturdays

I’m sure there is more, but this is all I can think of at the moment.

Typically the winter for me is the off season. I spend time reflecting on the previous season and focusing on my goals for the coming year. Where can I improve? What do I need to change? What could I have done differently? What worked? What didn’t work? etc.

As of now I only have 3 races on the schedule: Cherry Blossom 10 Miler, Florida Gulf Coast Sprint Tri, Columbia Triathlon and Ironman Lake Placid. I’m sure more will get added to the list, but I’m really going to try and focus on the big races this year.

So what have I been doing? Well…I’ve been working with my friend Steph (aka Burdette Sports Performance) on an off season training schedule. The plan is to follow this through March before Ironman training gets into full swing. It incorporates swimming, biking, weights, yoga, mobility and some running too.

Steph, her husband Matt and I went on a nice trail run right before Christmas. We did about 11.55. Steph is such a great motivator and her and I’ve been inspiring each other every day and sending selfies too. The goal is to send motivational quote to each other every day in January. I’m saving them and I’ll be sharing them all at the end of the month.

2017-01-04_13-22-10.jpg

I’ve also been doing a lot of boot camp at Beachfit. Combinations of strength and HIIT training along with my normal Thursday night TRX class.

IMG_4494.jpeg
And then there is the occasional gym selfie. This is a reminder to look in the mirror every day and tell yourself how strong and beautiful you are. Feel free to share yours with me…I’d love to see you crushing it in the gym!

IMG_4647.jpeg

New Years was just an all around fitness filled weekend too.

We did  yoga on Friday at M.Power with Dani and Saturday morning was spin at REV with Nick (co-leader of November Project Baltimore).

IMG_4672.jpeg

It was an insanely sweaty class and we followed it up with a trip to Pure Raw for an Acai Bowl.

IMG_4667.jpeg

Dinner was at The Food MarketIt was my first trip there and I highly recommend it. It was so tasty. Tacos and drinks? Yes please. It’s all about balance right?!?!

IMG_4686.jpeg  IMG_4687.jpeg

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

 IMG_4752.jpeg  IMG_4711 (1).jpeg

IMG_4733.jpeg

Sunday was the Resolution 5K in Patterson Park. Weather was perfect and we had a blast burning off all that champagne.

IMG_4751.jpeg   IMG_4737.jpeg

On Wednesday I finally made it to November Project. Man have I missed this group of amazing looking people at 5:30 in the morning. Rash Field every week…JUST SHOW UP.

IMG_4789.jpeg
New year means some fresh grassroots gear.

IMG_4779 (1).jpeg

SO….that’s it for now and I’m sorry that was so long. I promise the next few posts will be much shorter and wayyy more interesting.

 I have lots more exciting stuff in the works including a cool giveaway by Gundalow Juice.

Stay tuned…
2017-01-06_22-00-30.jpg

What have you been doing to stay fit in the new year? I’d love to know!!

Cheers,
Emily


Leave a Reply

