Swoodles

Back in the kitchen with some more weekly food prep. This time cooking up something from NomNomPaleo. Good news…it involves BACON.

She most recently posted about portable lunches and I hope to add these to menu over the next couple of weeks. The hope to stick to what I’ve been doing even after I complete Whole30 (which is actually tomorrow). Things may need to change a bit once I get into Ironman training, but overall I felt much better this go around and I made sure to pay more attention to my body. I’ll be sharing more as I go back and reflect on my Whole30 experience so stay tuned.

You can view her lunch recipes here.

BUT today I’m sharing this Swoodles recipe!!

Crispy Swoodles with Bacon

Ingredients:
½ pound Whole30-compliant bacon, cut crosswise into ¼-inch pieces
2 pounds white-fleshed sweet potatoes, peeled
2 large fat carrots, peeled
1 small yellow onion, peeled (Not a huge fan of onions so just used a small red onion I had)
Salt
1 medium lime
Freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons chopped Italian parsley
2 tablespoons minced chives

Method:
1) Preheat oven to 400°F on convection (or 425°F regular).
2) Toss the bacon bits into a large skillet on medium heat. Cook until all the fat is rendered and the bacon is crispy.

I used this Paleo bacon from Whole Foods since it’s sugar free and Whole30 approved.

img_5541
3) Spiralize the sweet potatoes, carrots, and onion. Place the spiralized veggies on a rimmed baking sheet.


4) When the bacon bits are crunchy use a slotted spoon to transfer them onto a paper towel-lined plate.
5) Toss the veggie noodles with salt and the reserved bacon drippings. Place them into the oven and roast for 35 to 45 minutes, stirring the veggies every 10-15 minutes.
6) The swoodles are done when the veggies are tender and have crispy bits all over. Watch your veggies like a hawk in the last 10 minutes to ensure that the onions and sweet potatoes don’t burn!

img_5545
7) Squirt with the juice from one lime and season to taste with salt and pepper.
8) Top the roasted swoodles with chopped parsley, chives, and reserved crispy bacon bits.

The noodles also make a great hash. I’ve been tossing them in a skillet with two over-easy eggs for breakfast.

Enjoy!!

xx
Emily


One thought on “Swoodles

Leave a Reply

