Winding Down and The Weekend Recap

I hope everyone had a great weekend. How about this weather? I hope you all opted outside to took full advantage.  I can’t believe that we are heading into the last FULL week of February. Like seriously where did this month go. Looking back over the past several months, I’ve really enjoyed the cross training, lots of strength stuff and just having fun with a variety of workouts. However, things are about to change.

As I look ahead to March and  Ironman training I am excited yet scared at the same time. Excited for a new training plan because I honestly think training is the best part of the whole process. The highs, the lows, the days you don’t want to, but you dig deep and do it anyway…that’s what I love. And to see everything unfold on race day is just the icing on the cake. With training comes commitment, dedication and lots of mental toughness.

I’m ready. I’m ready to jump in 1000%  and do this.

This week was a bit over the place. I won’t bore you with all of the specifics since there will be plenty of training updates coming in the future. I got in lots of good workouts including some HIIT training and spent more time on the Cycleops (my indoor bike trainer..aka my new best friend).

My friend Mac and I met for coffee at Order & Chaos on Friday before work. I’ve been loving this tradition and the almond milk lattes.

img_6379

As far as the weekend goes…that’s way more exciting.

Saturday: 

I taught TRX at Beachfit and had a great crew. Lauren (also an instructor at Beachfit) brought 2 month old Sophia. She was a champ and made it through the entire class.

After class, Mac scooped me up so I could take her through the last 8 miles of her training run. The weather was gorgeous and it was great to catch up on life.

After we parted it was time to head home and get ready since Steph was coming down for our scheduled play day in the park. We’ve been dying to try some acro yoga poses and couldn’t have asked for a better day to play in the park.

Steph and I also tried out the new juice bar in Locust Point called EarthShake. We both got Acai bowls that were delicious and the perfect afternoon pick me up.

img_6309

I was pretty much exhausted after our play day and went to bed pretty early (a raging Saturday night eh?!?)

I’m still on a high about how fun the day was and I still can’t pick a favorite. This is the first of many….stay tuned for so much more Steph & Emily adventures. I can hardly wait and just might start a series!!!

Sunday:

I got to sleep in a little today which was exciting but seems to be the norm for me lately. I wanted to get up to get a workout in before heading to PA so I hopped on the bike for a few miles. My sister and I were going to have lunch with our parents, grandpa, and our other sister and her husband.

I’ve been trying to be good about adding in red meat for more protein and iron so I ordered steak!

img_6332

And that’s pretty much a wrap. Sunday night I just got prepped for the week and figured out what I was going to do on Monday since I had the day off.

What fun things did you do this weekend?

Cheers to having a great week!

XX
Emily


2 thoughts on “Winding Down and The Weekend Recap

Leave a Reply

