Life After Whole30

Let’s see. Where should I start. If you follow me you know that I completed Whole30 in January. People have been asking about my experiences, favorite recipes and tips so I figured that I should probably write a brief recap.

I started a little late but still managed to make it all 30 days. I’ll be honest. I don’t do this to lose weight or to force myself to not drink for 30 days. There are so many other benefits to doing the Whole30. Here are my thoughts and things that I learned…

Things I liked:

  • Being on Whole30 really forces you to eat larger meals to fill you up instead of snacking. This was HUGE for me. I like to snack so this forced me to re-evaluate what I was eating between meals and before/after workouts. Cutting out bars and eating eggs or an apple as a snack instead made me feel fuller and gave me more energy.
  • Eating more for breakfast and adding in more protein kept me fuller longer and I ate less throughout the day. My favorite breakfast go-to was eggs! I love eggs as you know so I made egg quiches for breakfast (check out this great recipes from one of my earlier posts). I also got hooked on spaghetti squash with 2 (okay maybe 3) over-easy eggs. One of my TRX gals suggested this and it keeps me full for HOURS!

img_5068

  • I loved trying new recipes and for some reason being on Whole30 forced me to branch out and experiment more in the kitchen. I didn’t want to go out to eat because it’s just a pain so my weekends meant lots of tinkering in the kitchen.
  • The awareness. I liked that I was more conscious about what I was putting in my body and evaluating how I felt. I never felt tired or sluggish. I was still eating and eating A LOT of nutrient dense foods. I didn’t do a food diary, but it probably would have been beneficial.
  • Sleep. I typically struggle with feeling well rested at night and find that I’m tossing and turning. I have been getting the best sleep I’ve gotten in a long time and am pretty excited about it.

Things I missed:

  • I will admit I did miss that occasional glass of wine, but 30 days went by so quick so I got over it and wasn’t dying to have a drink on day 31.
  • Lattes! I’m not an everyday coffee drinker, but do love to treat myself on the weekends by stopping at the local coffee shop post sweat sesh. When I craved it, I would just go with a plain americano or make my own coffee beverage at home.  with canned coconut milk, coconut oil, and a touch of cinnamon (oh and sometimes cocoa powder that was Whole30 approved).

img_5467

  •  I did miss quinoa. I didn’t eat it all the time before, but was very tasty in salads and mixed with veggies. I’ll probably add it back in to see how I feel.


Life after Whole 30:

  • I’ve been trying to stick with the Whole30 habits as much as possible. My boyfriend Jonathan even made this walnut crusted pork tenderloin for me to try which was from the Whole30 cookbook. If you haven’t tried it…you need to.

img_6414

  • I actually had quinoa for the first time this weekend. I’ll probably add it back in and start to incorporate in some salads, but not something I crave regularly now.
  • I also haven’t been eating non-compliant bars aside from those Glukos bars I tried. I’m happy with the way that I’m feeling so want to keep it up.
  • I have had wine and alcohol…duh
  • I don’t really think I’ll go back to eating oatmeal. Maybe once race season picks up and I need that before a long run or race, but honestly I just didn’t miss it. It never really fills me up as much as a sweet potato (with almond butter) or eggs. Plus I feel better without it.
  • Overall, I still feel great and am so happy that I chose to do Whole30 again. It is such a wonderful feeling to be off to such a good start in 2017.

How is everyone feeling post-Whole30?

What good recipes are you trying?

Happy Sunday!
xx
Emily


Leave a Reply

