Home Sweet Home

I’M BAAACKKKK!!!!!

And already missing this view….

IMG_6934

I am actually writing this on the flight back to BWI. I’m ready to be home, but not ready to come back to this cold weather. I thoroughly enjoyed the 90 degree weather and the time at El Coco Loco Resort getting to know other yogis. It was such a relaxing (and epic) week with lots of yoga, beach, sun, coffee, laughs, good food, cocktails and so much more. It’s amazing how much more time you have in a day when you don’t have to worry about texts, emails, social media, wearing makeup, or even doing your hair. I spent a majority of the time in yoga/workout clothes, a bikini, flip flops, and beach cover- ups. It pretty much was a dream vacation.

IMG_6889

I’m still working on the full recap of the week spent in Nicaragua, but wanted to at least share some of my thoughts and reflect on a few things.

In case you didn’t know, Nicaragua is one of the poorest countries in Latin America. If you’ve ever visited a third world country you may know what I’m talking about when I say that we really don’t know how good we have it here in the United States. You may think it’s bad, but it’s nothing compared to what these other countries go through day to day.
After spending an entire week there, I’ve learned to appreciate the little things a little more that many of us take for granted such as…

– a flushing toilet
– ice cold drinking water and running water
– a washing machine (I recycled many of my clothes and washed them in the shower)
– a warm shower (although showering under the stars was pretty amazing)
– air condition (we had one ceiling fan and individual fans by our beds)
– education (elementary kids only go from 7am-11am and most of the time they don’t attend high school)
– money (most people in Nicaragua make $5 per day)

The interesting thing is that everyone is so happy. People are always smiling. Every morning while on the beach either running or walking past houses everyone said “Hola” or “Buenos Dias”, and waved.

Did I miss my cell phone and texting…yes. However, I’ve realized how much we are attached to technology and our mobile devices. I’m excited to share photos and all of the yoga things I’ve learned throughout these next couple of weeks, but I definitely will be more mindful of the time spent on social media, checking emails, etc.

I spent much of the week just trying to be present and focusing on my intentions. After all, tomorrow is never promised so take advantage of the time you have each day. You have the opportunity to create the most amazing life so what are you waiting for? We all have so much to be grateful for and my heart is so full after spending an incredible week with some of the most amazing people.

IMG_7313

More recap to come this week…

XX
Emily

IMG_7270


2 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

