Giddy-Up (Bites)

I know that you all are probably bummed that I have no more to share from Nicaragua….and trust me  wish I had more to write about. It seriously was the best and I’m still struggling with getting back into a routine. But…it’s back to Ironman training, food prepping, teaching classes, work and well….adulting.

This being said….many of you have asked about my little energy bites that I’ve been making. I’ve tweaked these a bit each time, but of all the bites I’ve made these are by far my favorite.  This recipe is from my Run Fast Eat Slow cookbook.

This recipe was also posted in Women’s Running. You can read the full article about Elyse Kopecky and Shalane Flanagan here.

I’ll be honest, I don’t measure anything I just toss it all together and see what happens.

What you need:

12 large Medjool dates, pitted (I buy the large bag of pitted dates from BJs)
1 cup dried unsweetened cherries (or other dried fruit…I’ve used cranberries)
1 cup raw chopped walnuts
1/4 cup unsalted almond butter
1 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
2 Tbsp. finely ground coffee beans
1/4 tsp. fine sea salt (I typically omit)
1/2 cup finely shredded unsweetened dried coconut

IMG_4271

I soak the dates for a few hours so they are easier to blend in the Vitamix. Once they soak I just toss all the ingredients (minus the coconut) in and pulse until everything is blended together. Be patient…it takes some time.

Once it’s all blended, I stick it in a container and stick in the fridge to get hard so it’s easier to roll and not as sticky (trust me…it’s still quite messy).

Next you just roll them into small bite size balls and roll in coconut.

IMG_4279

I’ve experimented with other recipes from the book including the Super Hero Muffins which I posted about here. I hope to get more creative in the coming weeks and try some more things.

Now giddy up

xx
Emily


Leave a Reply

