FGCU Sprint Tri Recap

I am actually pretty excited to get this recap up. If you follow me on social media you probably already saw that it was a pretty good day for me (and Jonathan too). Just like the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler, my goal today was to have fun and use this as a base for what needs improvement. The last time I did a tri was last September so I didn’t really know what to expect. I was also excited to do this with Jonathan since he actually got this race entry for me for Christmas.

Check out my last post here, for the week of training leading up to race day.

Sunday: Race Day

4:15am….UGHHH this came so early and I was not ready to get out of bed. I was still coughing a little and a bit stuffed up, but…time to suck it up.

Breakfast was a Nature’s Path Gluten-Free waffle, a banana, almond butter and some honey. I also had a little coffee for an extra energy boost.

IMG_7852

Slowly getting our stuff ready to go. It definitely was not going to be a warm morning so packed on the layers.

Loaded the bikes (well Jonathan loaded the bikes) and then we were off.

 IMG_7858

We got parked, put our bikes in transition and then got our body markings and timing chips. I drank some of my Tailwind and ate one of my Picky Bars

We met up with one of Jonathan’s training buddies, Eddie. Eddie is new to the whole triathlon thing too and is using the same coach (SOT3) as Jonathan for Ironman Florida.

IMG_7861

Transition closed at 6:45am and the race started at 7am, so we ditched our clothes and headed towards the lake.

pre swim

The water was actually warmer than the air surprisingly. It was only in the 50’s when we started and the water temperature was 70’s.  I warmed up in the water and then it was time to hop out and let the first wave go. They had just 2 waves, one for the men and one for the women. A little after 7am the guys were off and then we started about 5 minutes after.

The swim was by far the worst. With being sick it was hard to breathe and I just felt inconsistent with my strokes in the water. I was breathing every stroke and with it being dark it was hard to see where I was going. I swam too far left and had to cut back in so that definitely added some time. I caught my breathe around the two buoys and just couldn’t wait to get out of the water. But hey…you have to start somewhere so now I just need to get more open water swim practice.

It wasn’t a far run into the transition area so I quickly dried off my hands and feet, put on my helmet, sunglasses and shoes and then ran out for the bike.

The bike felt pretty good and I got clipped in just fine with my new speedplay pedals. I took in some of my tailwind and just catch my breathe. The course was flat and was just two big loops around the campus. It went by super quick. I took my Huma gel (Strawberry Lemonade) at mile 5. Before I knew it, it was into T2 to get ready for the run.

I wasn’t at all concerned about the run. The only thing I cared about was just running fast to get it done. I feel pretty good coming off the bike and just made sure I stuck with good form. It was an out and back and I got to see Jonathan as he was almost to the finish. I grabbed water at the 1.5 mile mark and then just tried to pick up my pace to carry me through until the end. I was so happy when I saw that finish line!!

Official Results:

Me:
Overall: 39/113
Gender: 6/39
Age: 1st

2017-04-10_18-41-49

Jonathan:
Overall: 9/113
Gender: 9/74
Age: 2nd

2017-04-10_18-41-02

Time for photos!!!!

Thank RipIt coaching for the badass tri-suit and for all of your support in this journey to 70.3!!!

Also…a big thank you to Trek Bicycle Store of Estero for hooking me up with my bike. I’ve rented this bike about 3 times and it has always worked out pretty well. The team at Trek is just amazing and they have such a great support and presence in the tri community.

17879820_10154766608341971_723179521473217511_o

tri

They took some great photos and the bike photo even made the news-press!! Check it out here.

We got our awards and then off to First Watch for FOOD!!!

Avocado Toast and the Morning Meditation Juice

Our afternoon was pretty chill. We grabbed Starbucks, returned the bike, caught some sun by the pool and got some super delicious acai bowls from Ada’s.

acai

Pretty sure that’s the perfect Sunday Funday (or Runday)!!

Congrats to everyone already getting after it this year with races!!

xx
Emily


Leave a Reply

