Columbia Half Marathon Recap

My heart is so full after this past weekend. I’m pretty excited about this recap because running with Athletes Serving Athletes is a true passion of mine. I’ve been grateful for the opportunity to be a part of this organization for 4 years and have helped get athletes across the finish line in all race distances ranging from 5k’s to marathon relays. Each year it get’s more and more exciting.

We are continuing to grow and provide an incredible race experience for these athletes and their families. I encourage you to check out the website and sign up to come to a training run to see just how much fun it is to be a part of this community. I promise you after one race…you’ll be hooked. If you don’t want to run and rather give a donation…that is making a huge impact too. Your one donation gives the ability for us to get one more athlete across the finish line this year. You can check out my donation link here.

Okay…onto race things.

The Columbia Half Marathon was my first race of the 2017 season and I am so glad I had the opportunity to run with Joy. I’ve run with Joy in a few other races, but never this race. It was a tough (hilly) course and I’m grateful to have had such a great team to help get through all 13.1 miles.

Race outfit:

Rip It visor
ASA wingman shirt
ASA bracelets
Accept No Limits Momentum bracelet (because we always need more motivation)
Newton Distance III
2XU compression socks
Huma gel (just in case)
*Disclaimer: I did wear shorts…but the night before I was still undecided which ones I was going to wear

IMG_8113

Race morning:

Up and out the door by 6am to be in Columbia by 6:30am.

IMG_8117

The essentials:

Lots of water
Protein powder for post race
Nathan bottle for the jogger with Tailwind (Berry Flavored)
Huma gel for the race
Breakfast
: Banana and Munk Fruit pack (also had a few sweet potato cookies I prepped on Saturday)

IMG_8115

Everyone getting set up.

Team Joy ready to go….

IMG_8120

17 athletes
53 wingman/captains
10 volunteers

18076816_10211760658425546_3269312347722177905_o
I’d say we captured some pretty awesome race pictures.

and when James asks for a picture…you never say no.

IMG_8152

I also grabbed a picture with Steph who is also a RipIt Ambassador and training for Ironman Lake Placid.

IMG_8157

Check us out and learn how you can become a Wingman or Captain and help make a difference in these athletes lives.  Remember it’s your legs, lungs and heart that help get these athletes across the finish line!!

Together We Finish

If you have questions or would like to know more about what we do please reach out to me. I’d love to meet up at one of our training runs or a race to tell you more.

Have a great week!!

xx
Emily


2 thoughts on “Columbia Half Marathon Recap

Leave a Reply

