5 Down…1 To Go

You read that right….1 month until Ironman Lake Placid. I honestly can’t believe it’s almost here . I feel like these past few months have flown by.

Screen Shot 2016-07-21 at 1_03_05 PM

Here are just a few thoughts as I head into these next few weeks.

  • Getting in my longest ride of training (and ever) which is 60 miles.
  • Nutrition is one of the biggest components of a successful race (not just an Ironman, but any race). This is one thing I’ll be focusing on and having my race day plan in place.
  • RECOVERY (this is a big one). I’ve got to spend time working on mobility, foam rolling, getting massages and just taking care of my body.
  • Along with recovery comes SLEEP. This is so important  for improving performance, reducing risk of injury and helping to make sure my muscles have plenty of time to rest/recover.
  •  Trusting the process and letting these months of training come together so that I can execute on race day.
  • Overall, I feel really good going into these next few weeks. My runs have been solid, I’m feeling faster and have more confidence on the bike, and swims are strong.
  • CONFIDENCE, CONFIDENCE, CONFIDENCE AND BELIEVE IN MYSELF!

I’m sure I’ll have more thoughts over these next few weeks and will be chatting a bit more about how I’m preparing but now is the time to get focused mentally and physically.

c0d2fa2fed0bf13a37c3c97b64f0668a.jpg

I am beyond excited to make history as one of the first ever Ironman 70.3 Lake Placid racers. See you in September!!

IMG_0672

xx
Emily

 

 


2 thoughts on “5 Down…1 To Go

Leave a Reply

